Skip to content

An update

August 19, 2011

8/19/2011

I spoke with my mother last night and the situation seems to getting worse and it is happening at a very rapid pace.  My dad, the man who I loved and admired as a kid and as an adult, is disappearing before my eyes.  In his place is an empty shell of a man who reeks of bourbon and beer.  Here is a brief list of some of his issues:

  • He has stopped bathing, with his last shower being over a week ago.  When I was a kid, my dad took a shower every day, even on the weekends.
  • He has stopped shaving.  As an adult, I look forward to the weekend so I can skip shaving.  My dad shaved every day, even if it was to go and cut the grass.
  • He needs assistance putting a belt on.
  • He asked the other night where one of our family members was?  The family member in question had not been there in weeks.  When my mom told him, he said he must have dozed off.
  • The last big thing is that he has stopped eating.  Last night for dinner, he had two teaspoons of baked beans.  That was his entire food intake for the entire day.  The previous day, it was a small cup of peaches for the entire day.

I am at a point right now that I don’t know what to do or how to feel.  I love my father, but at the same time, I resent him for destroying not only himself, but my mother and me at the same time.  The last time I saw my dad, he was a shell of a person.  It scares me to think that it might be the last memory I have of my dad.  I don’t know what to do or even if I can do anything.  Without my wife in my life, I would lack an anchor to keep me from being sucked into my dad’s alcohol tainted abyss.  This really sucks.

From → Alcoholism

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

